IEEE Latin-American Conference on Communications
08-10 November 2017 – Guatemala City, Guatemala

Keynote Speakers


Pr. Moe Win

Moe Win is a Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and the founding director of the Wireless Communication and Network Sciences Laboratory. Prior to joining MIT, he was with AT&T Research Laboratories for five years and with the Jet Propulsion Laboratory for seven years. His research encompasses fundamental theories, algorithm design, and experimentation for a broad range of real-world problems. His current research topics include network localization and navigation, network interference exploitation, intrinsic wireless secrecy, adaptive diversity techniques, ultra-wide bandwidth systems, optical transmission systems, and space communication systems.

Professor Win was honored with two IEEE Technical Field Awards: the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award and the IEEE Eric E. Sumner Award. He received the Copernicus Fellowship, the Royal Academy of Engineering Distinguished Visiting Fellowship, the Fulbright Fellowship, the IEEE Communications Society Edwin H. Armstrong Achievement Award, the International Prize for Communications Cristoforo Colombo, the Laurea Honoris Causa from the University of Ferrara, the Technical Recognition Award of the IEEE ComSoc Radio Communications Committee, and the U.S. Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. He is elected Fellow of the AAAS, the IEEE, and the IET, and served as an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer.

Professor Win was an elected Member-at-Large on the IEEE Communications Society Board of Governors (2011-2013). He was the Chair (2004-2006) and Secretary (2002-2004) for the Radio Communications Committee of the IEEE Communications Society. He is currently an Editor-at-Large for the IEEE Wireless Communications Letters. He served as Editor (2006–2012) for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, and served as Area Editor (2003-2006) and Editor (1998-2006) for the IEEE Transactions on Communications.

Pr. Luiz A. DaSilva

Luiz DaSilva holds the chair of Telecommunications at Trinity College Dublin. There, he is a co-Principal Investigator of CTVR, and of CONNECT, two telecommunications research centres funded by the Science Foundation Ireland. He also holds a research faculty position in the Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Virginia Tech, where he was a tenured/tenure-track faculty member from 1998 to 2014. Prof DaSilva’s research focuses on distributed and adaptive resource management in wireless networks, and in particular cognitive radio networks and the application of game theory to wireless networks. He is currently a principal investigator on research projects funded by the National Science Foundation, the Science Foundation Ireland, and the European Commission under Framework Programme 7. Recent research sponsors also include DARPA, the Office of Naval Research, Intel, and Microsoft Research. He is the author of over 150 peer-reviewed journal and conference papers and two books on wireless communications and has given numerous keynote speeches and invited talks in Europe, Asia, North and South America.

Pr. Pramode Verma

Pramode Verma is Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Gallogly College of Engineering of the University of Oklahoma. Prior to that (1999-2016) he was Professor, Williams Chair in Telecommunications Networking, and Director of the Telecommunications Engineering Program in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He joined the University of Oklahoma in 1999 as the founder-director of a graduate program in Telecommunications Engineering.

He is the author/co-author of over 150 journal articles and conference papers, and several books in telecommunications engineering. His academic credentials include a doctorate in electrical engineering from Concordia University in Montreal, and an MBA from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. He has been a keynote speaker at several international conferences and has lectured in several countries. He received the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa President’s Leadership Award for Excellence in Research and Development in 2009. He is a Senior Member of the IEEE and a Senior Fellow of The Information and Telecommunication Education and Research Association.

Prior to joining the University of Oklahoma, over a period of twenty five years, Pramode held a variety of professional, managerial and leadership positions in the telecommunications industry, most notably at AT&T Bell Laboratories and Lucent Technologies. He is the co-inventor of nine patents with several patents pending. He has served on National Science Foundation panels, especially those on Small Business Innovation Research. His research on Quantum Communication has been funded by the National Science Foundation.

Pr. Hikmet Sari

Hikmet Sari is currently Chief Scientist at Sequans Communications and Professor at Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications (NUPT). From 2003 to 2016, he was Professor and Head of the Telecommunications Department at Supelec. Previously, he held various research and management positions at Philips, SAT (SAGEM Group), Alcatel, Pacific Broadband Communications, and Juniper Networks. He received his Engineering Diploma and Ph.D. from the ENST, Paris, and the Habilitation degree from the University of Paris-Sud. His distinctions include the IEEE Fellow Grade and the Blondel Medal in 1995, the Edwin H. Armstrong Achievement Award in 2003, the Harold Sobol Award in 2012, and election to the European Academy and to the Science Academy of Turkey in 2012.

Dr. Sari has served the IEEE Communications Society in numerous volunteer and leadership positions including Vice President – Conferences, Distinguished Lecturer, Member of the IEEE Fellow Evaluation Committee, Member of the Awards Committee, Member of several Technical Committees, Chair of the GITC, Chair of the Communication Theory Symposium of ICC 2002, Technical Program Chair of ICC 2004, Executive Chair of ICC 2006, General Chair of PIMRC 2010, General Chair of WCNC 2012, Executive Chair of WCNC 2014, Executive Co-Chair of ICC 2016, Executive Chair of ICC 2017, Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Communications, Associate Editor of the IEEE Communications Letters, and Guest Editor of IEEE JSAC. He also served as General Chair of ICUWB 2014, Technical Program Chair of EuCNC 2015, and General Co-Chair of ATC 2016.